My first MAC Lipstick

As an avid makeup lover and collector, I am obsessed passionate about trying new things. I am nearly ashamed to say I own nothing from M.A.C. Why? Because it’s pretty overwhelming to just walk in and try to pick out something to try. Well the other day I made the decision that I was going to just do it. I’d made the transition from the drugstore to Sephora relatively easy, how hard could the M.A.C. counter be. (I took Hubby for security. I’m a chicken, what can I say?)

Before arriving, I’d already made the decision that I wanted to just buy lipstick. Limiting myself to just one type of product cut the anxiety and confusion down considerably. I also knew I wanted to stick to neutral pink colors, i.e. something I could wear every day. I figured if I can’t wear it with a lot of things I just won’t wear it and that would be a mistake. The last thing that really helped was the friendly gal behind the counter. I didn’t even get her name because we were on a bit of a time limit (other precaution to keep from being overwhelmed). I told her what I wanted and she asked me a few questions about what kinds of finishes I liked (opaque and creamy if you care to know) and she started pulling lipstick. We ended up with three contenders.

Fast Play was the first thing she had me try on. It was the perfect “my lips but better” color. It would go with everything and just looked so pretty. It’s described on the M.A.C. site as “neutral pink.” See above where that’s perfect. This was an immediate yes for me.

fastplay_lipswatch

I was then torn between Hot Gossip, described as a “mid toned pinky plum,” and Craving, described as “burst of plum.” In the end I deferred to Hubby who chose Craving. I have to admit the color looks so pretty on my lips. It’s deeper without being vampy. Still super wearable on a day-to-day basis and paired with a smokey eye, great for date night.

craving_lipswatch

 

mac_lipsticks

Both the colors I got are Amplified Cremes, which I’m told fit my request for opaque color and creamy consistency. I really appreciated the gal behind the counter who listened to exactly what I want and gave it to me without and fuss. It was a pleasant shopping experience and one I’m definitely going to repeat.

What was your first M.A.C. lipstick? Which one should I try on next? Let me know in the comments below. As always thanks for being here and have a great day.

 

One thought on “My first MAC Lipstick

  1. with a light pink liner all over my lips I love to wear creme d’nude and then flamingo those two are my favorites for now!

Leave a Reply

