March 2014 Ipsy Bag

This month’s theme is Destination Beauty all about exotic beach vacations and island getaways. I get the theme I guess with a few of my items. I’m on the fence about this months bag. The items I got weren’t particularly disappointing, but I’m not entirely wowed. I still think that Ipsy is a great deal for any beauty lover. It’s a great way to test out new products, especially ones you’ve never given a second glance to. So with that little speech out of the way let’s check out the goodies.

IMG_2454

 

Only four items this month, with two full sized items and two decent sized samples it seems like a pretty good deal. The bag came with a little insert that stated that the bag was designed by an artist named Klari Reis.

IMG_2453

The design is pretty cool. It’s got a rubbery texture. The biggest issue I have with this bag is the closure. I prefer my bags to open at the top, this bag opens on the side. I think that it means that you can’t store as much in the bag. It’s a super random little thing, but it’s annoying.

Alright first goodie, is a lipstick from Bareminerals. (Forgive the blurry photos, new camera and I’m not quite used to it.) It’s a Marvelous Moxie lipstick in the color “Get Ready.” The color is nice. It’s like a neutral pink color that is very wearable. It may be just a hair warm for my personal preference, but I do like it. The sample size is decent and the lipstick has the same kind of minty feel on the lips as the Moxie gloss does.

IMG_2442 IMG_2445

 

The coolest thing about this lippie sample is the deal that comes attached to it.

IMG_2456

 

When you order and use the attached code  you get a free sample of the Lash Domination mascara (which I’ve tried and kind of liked) along with free shipping. That’s a pretty sweet deal. I haven’t tried much from Bareminerals, but with a deal like this I might be willing to sample a little more.

Next thing I got is a nail polish by Nicole by OPI in the shade “On what Grounds?”.

IMG_2448

 

It’s a textured polish, which has never really been my cup of tea, but I like the color. It’s kind of a pastel turquoise with blue speckles. When it dries it has a “pebbled” texture. I haven’t tried this out yet, but I like the color and I’m on the fence about the texture.

Up next is an eye shadow quad from Be a Bombshell in the shade “Bora Bora.”

IMG_2452

 

I’ve only swatched these shadows and the color payoff isn’t bad, even from the blue. They seem pretty silky smooth, but we’ll have to see how they perform on the eyes. The color grouping is not my favorite. I can work with the bright blue color, but the red is something I would totally steer clear of. I’ll have to see how I can work this quad.

Last thing I got was Klorane Smoothing and relaxing patches with soothing cornflower.

IMG_2447

 

These are supposed to go on your eyes to help with puffiness, dark circles, and brighten the eye area. You can cool these in the fridge to make them the most effective. These are interesting to say the least. I always have tired puffy eyes with horrible black circles and I’m constantly trying to make them look more refreshed. These might be worth a shot and according to Ipsy’s website you should see instant results. I’ll try them out and report back.

So that’s all that I got in this month’s Ipsy bag. Are you a subscriber, what did you get in your bag? Not a subscriber, but want to be? Signing up for Ipsy is easy and at only $10 a month is a great way to explore new avenues of beauty products. As always thanks for stopping by and have a great day!

Leave a Reply

