Beauty Resolutions for 2014

I know that January is already over, but I wanted to share my resolutions where beauty is concerned. These are things I want to work on this year when it comes to hair, makeup, and skin care. I like to think that I’ve learned a lot since I started really getting into beauty but there’s always room for improvement. So let’s see what I want to work on.

1. Skincare Improvements: I suck at skincare. I mean I get the concepts- wash, moisturize, some of steps probably, but I don’t really stick with any kind of routine. This year I want to develop a basic routine and stick to it daily. I don’t really want to stick with one set of products because there’s no fun in not being able to try different products, but I really want to start moisturizing my skin, because I’ve already noticed a significant difference in my skin since I started moisturizing a little over a month ago. I also want to experiment with some new kinds of products. Like, I don’t even know what toner is for, but I’m sure as heck going to find out. I got some samples of Demalogica, some samples in my January Ipsy bag, and then I also bought some stuff online to try out. I’m pretty pumped. I don’t have bad skin neccessary, but who knows I might end up with AWESOME skin, or it might fall off (but that’s negative thinking and I’m resolving not to do that this year.)

2. Hair: In September of 2012, I cut my hair really short. I was going for this Gennifer Goodwin look. I even colored it black. It’s really easy to maintain and I do really love it, but I think it limits me a little when it comes to style. That being said, I have two resolutions regarding my hair. The first is to let it grow out a little and the second, which will help with the first, is to get regular hair cuts. I sort of only cut my hair when I can’t stand it being in my eyes anymore. Regular cuts will help keep it healthy. I might experiment with new products, but I’m not resolving to do that, because me and hair styling just don’t get along.

3. Makeup: I have few makeup resolutions. The first one is that I am only going to open three mascaras at a time. At one point, I was buying so much mascara and trying so much that it was going bad before I ever got good use out of it. I read/heard that you’re supposed to throw out mascara every three months, so at the beginning of January I opened three new mascaras and I’m trying to rotate them. On April 1st I’ll throw them out and tell you what I thought of them. I’ve already got three new one to open in April. I’m just going to try in general not to waste products this year, because I hate that.

Second makeup resolution is that I’m going to get organized. The fam and I live in a pretty small space for four people and as a wife and mama, I feel like I can’t be taking up whole rooms to have a beauty space, but I have carved out a little corner in my room that’s all mine. This year I’m going to get my makeup organized and it’s going to look nice. I’m tired of having a little of this here and a little of that there. I feel like that’s how I’m forgetting products or things are getting wasted. So, I’m gonna get organized.

Last resolution is that I’m going to branch out a little. I want to try some new brands, new kinds of products. I’m completely confident that I can do this since I love to try new things. When I get to the store though, I generally gravitate right toward the same things. I’m going to try to use liquid liner (scary) and maybe a glitter nail polish or something. This resolution is really about not being afraid of makeup. To go along with this though, if I get something and it doesn’t work for me I’m going to return it or give it away. I have been hanging on to some products way too long and they are really just a waste of money and space. I resolve to spend more money, but wisely. (Hubby if you’re reading this, I won’t spend that much… well, just don’t think about it. It’s fine).

So that’s really it. Those are my beauty resolutions for 2014. I’m planning a big shopping trip probably in March that will definitely jump start a lot of these. Stay tuned for updates!

What are your resolutions this year, beauty or otherwise? Tell me in the comments below. As always thanks for coming by and have a great day!

2 thoughts on “Beauty Resolutions for 2014

  1. Pingback: Beauty Resolution Update | Itty Britty's Life

  2. Hi there, just became alert to your blog through Google,
    and found that it is truly informative. I am gonna watch out for
    brussels. I’ll appreciate if you continue this in future.

    A lot of people will be benefited from your writing.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

