Too Faced Chocolate Bar- Dessert for you Eyes

Valentine’s Day is just around the corner and it’s time to splurge on yourself or have your hunny do it for you. If you’re gonna splurge what should you splurge on? The obvious answer of course is CHOCOLATE! And I’m talking about the Too Faced Chocolate Bar palette. It’s a gorgeous mix of chocolatey neutrals with slight pops of color thrown in. Best thing? The dang thing smells like chocolate. Not only does it make you look pretty, but you get to smell it’s fantastic deliciousness the whole time you use it.

Alright let’s take a look. You can click any pictures to make them larger.

chocolate bar

The packaging is a little tin that looks like a a chocolate bar. Not pictured are the look cards that the palette came with. They give you ideas on how to mix the shadows to create different looks. Speaking of shadows, here they are in all their wondrous glory.

chocolate-inside

From left to right: First row- Gilded Ganache, White Chocolate, Milk Chocolate, Black Forest Truffle, and Triple Fudge. Second Row- Salted Caramel, Marzipan, Semi-Sweet, Strawberry Bon Bon, Candied Violet, and Amaretto. Third Row- Hazelnut, Creme Brulee, Haute Chocolate, Cherry Cordial, and Champange Truffle.

These shadows have a great smooth texture and I haven’t experienced any issues with pigmentation with any of the shadows. The more glittery shadows do have a little bit if fallout, but nothing that is unmanageable if you’re conscious of it. I decided that when I review a palette like this I want to include a few looks that I’ve created with the palette to give you an idea of what you can do with it. So, I mixed it up for three days to create some different looks. The results were not as I expected. Despite using entirely different shadows, I seem to have a comfort zone and it’s pretty much brown. I’ll let you look for yourself.

0119-2014_6240b0120-2014_6300b 0122-2014_6586b

Look number one was created by patting White Chocolate all over the lid and up on the brow bone as a highlight. Then, I put Salted Caramel over the outside half of the lid. Hazlenut went on the outside corner and blended up into the crease. Finally, Guilded Ganche went on the very outside corner and just a little ways into the crease.

Look number two was the most involved. Marzipan went all over the lid, then topped with Amaretto only on the outside half. Cherry Cordial was blended into the crease and Black Forest Truffle went in the very outside corner and the outer edge of the crease. I used Milk Chocolate to blend out the crease because it was a little heavy. Once again, White Chocolate went on the brow bone for highlight.

Last look was super simple, Creme Brulee over the lid, Haute Chocolate in the outside corner and up into the crease, and Triple Fudge to deepen the crease again. I assume you can guess what I used for highlight? White Chocolate is a really nice matte cream that I love for just under the eyebrow.

Okay, so not drastically different looks, but still all very nice and easy to wear. I’ll need to play with candied violet and strawberry bon bon a little since they are nice pops of color. Maybe Creme Brulee and Candied Violet would look good together? I’ll continue to play with it and maybe you’ll see a Face of the Day using it again in the future.

Overall, I am loving this palette. The pretty mix of browns, taupes, and berry colors is right up my alley. The price point is $49 at retailers like Sephora or Ulta or at Too Faced.com.

Have you tried the Chocolate Bar? Like or don’t like leave a comment below. Thanks again for stopping by and have a great day.

3 thoughts on “Too Faced Chocolate Bar- Dessert for you Eyes

  1. I think it’s pretty. The only reason I won’t buy it is because I already have so many palettes with similar colors. I really like the heart shaped cheek colors that were released with the palette!

Leave a Reply

