Gotta Use It Up

I have a lot of products that I buy because I saw a great review on it or because it’s on sale or maybe just because I thought I had to have. Sometimes products get shoved to the background and I forget about them. I’ve decided that every once in a while I need to go back through my collection and pull out some stuff that I don’t use enough and show it some love. I’ve got a good set of things that I need to try to incorporate into more looks that I’d like to share with you.

You can click any of the pictures to make them larger.

use-it-up

I’ll start with the face products:

use-it-up-faceuse-it-up-face

First is the ELF Studio Contouring Blush and Bronzer Duo in the original color. I think it’s called St. Lucia now (don’t quote me on that). I will not admit how long I’ve had this, but it’s too long. I’ve made a good dip in the bronzer. The blush is a little too peachy for this time of year, but I can certainly make good use of that bronzer. Next thing, is the Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse Blush in Peach Satin. I pulled this out to use up because I’ve had it for a long time and it’s getting a little ucky, but I haven’t really reached for it because like I said it’s a little peachier than I like to wear this time of year. The one time I used it, I remembered that I didn’t really care for the texture of these. I may have to just throw it out, but I really can’t bring myself to do it. I’ll keep you updated on the status of this poor cream blush. Next two things are concealers, both in the color Ivory. The first is the Maybelline Dream Lumi Highlighting Concealer and the second is from Bobbi Brown. I got them both for under eye concealing and brightening, but they’re both a little light and make the area appear ashy. I can work with it if I mix them with my spot concealer, but that’s so much work I can see why I quit reaching for these. I’ve been using the Maybelline pen one every day and I like the packaging. The Bobbi Brown one will be harder to use up since it’s so thick and creamy that I only use a little at a time. I’m working through it though. Next, is my ELF Mineral Foundation in warm. This is a decent mineral foundation, I guess. I don’t like powder foundations. I usually use a little of this to top off my liquid foundation. There’s a lot packed into those little sifter. It’s a bit aggravating. Last thing is my Revlon PhotoReady Concealer stick in light/medium. I like the texture of this concealer, but it’s really yellow on me. However, I’ve almost used it all up. All that’s left is the little bit you see there.

Next up is lip products. Some of these I’ve had a long time and some are fairly new. I mostly picked these to mix up my lip colors a little bit since I tend to reach for the same colors every day.

0117-2014_6185

I have two NYX jumbo lip pencils in the colors: Fuschia, which is a nudey mauve color and goes with anything; and Pink Brown which is a bright pink with shimmer. I love the format of jumbo lip pencils. It gives me so much more control without sacrificing color payoff. These NYX ones are creamy and feel lovely on my lips. I bought these ages ago, so I need to use them up. Next product is also from NYX. It’s a Soft Matte Lip Cream in the color Antwerp. I love the coral color, but I feel like these are slightly drying on my lips. This is another thing I’ve had for ages and just need to commit to use more and learn to love the matte texture. Last one is from Tarte. It’s a Matte LipSurgence in the color Generous. This is a brownish nude color. I love the smell of the LipSurgences. They’re minty fresh. It’s like freshly brushed teeth on your lips.

Next set of products is for my eyes. I like to mix it up when it comes eye shadows, but I play it pretty safe when it comes to liners and bases.

0117-2014_6184

I have three jumbo pencils. Two of them are from Wet N Wild in the colors Graphite, a charcoal color, and Distress, a deep navy. I like these sheered out as a base for powder shadows as they crease on their own. The third jumbo pencil is from ELF in the color French Lace. It’s a sparkley, light pink. This is a good base for pretty much any shadows, but again creases on its own. This is really sparkley though, so it’s not my all time favorite. The last two products are liner pencils, both from ELF. One is a Essential Brightening pencil in Midnight and the other is an Essential Shimmer pencil in copper. I usually stick to black or brown liner, so with these I’m trying a new look.

Last thing I want to use more is the ELF Studio Lip Primer&Plumper.

0117-2014_6187

It’s a dual ended tool with one side being a creamy primer that neutralizes your lips before you put on a lip product and the other side is a plumping stick that makes your lips all tingley. I love to exfoliate my lips and then use the plumping side. I don’t know that it makes my lips look bigger, but I rather like the way it feels so I continue to do it.

Well that’s all the stuff I want to use more in the coming days. I’ll keep you up-to-date on how my progress is going. What products do you want to incorporate more into your daily routine? Let me know in a comment below. Thanks again for stopping by and have a great day!

Leave a Reply

